Undergraduate Awards & Honors

Award Opportunities

Honors in German

There are three ways to achieve honors in German: Honors by Coursework and Portfolio, Honors by Creative Project, or Honors by Thesis. These three options are designed to provide a capstone to the German major and to offer you a chance to draw together the breadth of your linguistic and cultural knowledge of German language. You will work one-on-one with a faculty member in an extended conversation to craft your project or portfolio and hone your analytical skills, delving deeply into the intellectual questions that engage you as a student of German. These questions may arise from coursework or from your own engagements with German culture beyond the formal university setting.


For information about the requirements and application forms for receiving Honors in German, please see the Director of Undergraduate Studies.

Delta Phi Alpha, The German National Honor Society

The department strongly encourages students to join Delta Phi Alpha, the German National Honorary Society. This organization hosts regular social events/study breaks for its members and provides guidance for those interested in improving their German and knowledge of German culture. Students are eligible to join if they have a minimum of two years of university-level German courses (300 and higher) or their equivalent; a minimum overall GPA of 2.7; a minimum German GPA of 3.3; and a continued interest in the study of German language and culture. 

Online - Delta Phi Alpha Application 

An application is considered complete when supporting documentation (a copy of your unofficial transcript, such as what you can download from WebSTAC, and a short personal statement of at least one paragraph stating why you would like to join Delta Phi Alpha) is on file with the department. Please submit these documents to Benjamin Locke via email or to his mailbox in the department office (S. Ridgley 319).

Departmental Scholarships and Awards

The Bronsen Prize was established in honor of Professor David Bronsen, a distinguished scholar, teacher, and long-time member of the German Department. The prize is awarded to a graduating German major or minor on the basis of excellent German language skills and superior academic achievement.

The Detjen Study Abroad Award provides support for undergraduate and graduate students to undertake German-language coursework for at least one semester at a university in a German-speaking country. It is designed to provide partial funding for a student’s expenses associated with travel to, from, and within Europe. Preference shall be given to undergraduate students matriculated for a full academic year at a German-speaking university, with secondary consideration given to undergraduate or graduate students matriculated at a German-speaking university for one semester. 

The James McLeod Prize was established in honor of Dean James McLeod, an esteemed professor in the German Department, as well as an exceptional colleague and mentor. The prize is awarded to a graduating German major or minor on the basis of overall excellence in German studies and in extracurricular involvement in departmental activities.

The Gerhild Scholz Williams Award was established in honor of Professor Williams for her contributions to the field of German Studies. The award is an annual competitive grant of up to $2,000 for students planning to conduct summer research in a German-speaking country on a project related to German culture.

Past Winners

Gerhild Scholz Williams Award

2020 Nicci Mowszowski (selected, but could not accept due to the global pandemic)

David Bronsen Prize

2022 Noah Slaughter
2021 Nicci Mowszowski, Yutong Zhang
2020 Yumi Sasaki
2019 Patrick Goff
2018 Alex Weil
2017 Eliana Goldstein
2016 Stephen Lehman
2015 Gyoonho Kong
2014 Tianqi Wang
2013 Diana Jack, Harris Engelmann
2012 Hillary J. Conkey
2011 Benjamin Graham, Yu (Julia) Wu
2010 Erika Deal, Katherine Kerschen
2009 Patricia Cruz
2008 Melissa Reimers
2007 Mary Kathleen Meyer
2006 Erika Hajdu
2005 Jacob Haubenreich, James Prell
2004 Kristin Ehrenberger
2003 Natalie Chalabi, Andrew Esterday

James McLeod Achievement-in-German Prize

2022 Emma Deutschmann
2021 Rhea Jin
2020 Luke Nadell
2019 Carolina D'Andrea
2018 Rebecca Schultz
2017 Rachel Schneider
2016 Hal Matthews
2015 Lisa Herbert
2014 Taylor Docking
2013 Diana Jack
2012 Karina Stridh
2011 Alexander Miller
2010 Leah Marks
2009 Rebekah Slodunik
2008 Emily Soderberg
2007 Amanda Gumbrecht
2006 Kristin McGrath, Kyle Whitehead
2005 Katy Marie Scoggin
2004 Jennifer Lynn Semon
2003 Christina Elaine Wills

Cecilia L. Hospes Scholarship (travel grant)

2014 Gyoonho Kong
2013 Kevin Sparks
2012 Brooke Husic
2011 Joseph Taylor
2010 Randall Brachman
2009 Yu (Julia) Wu
2008 Leah Marks
2007 Scott Kennedy
2006 Brandon Krepel
2005 Denise Umpiérrez
2004 Erika Hajdu
2003 Meredith Berwick

Department Travel Grant (donation from former student)

2003 Alicia Caldwell

Summer Scholarships for German Study in Göttingen

2021 Due to the global pandemic, our Göttingen program was cancelled.
2020 Due to the global pandemic, our Göttingen program was cancelled.
2019 Lauren Bush, Mingjia (Maggie) Chen, Zachary Glabman, Constanza Gonzalez Navarrine, Claire McLoughlin, Thithat (Theo) Promlikitchai
2018 David Easton, Xueyi (Rhea) Jin, Nicci Mowszowski, Yumino (Yumi) Sasaki, Lixuan (Alice) Xu, Manzura Yusupova
2017 Bernardo Amaral Neves, Yiwen Dai, Yuheng (Cady) Fu, Yu (Beryl) Rong, Zishan (Simoner) Zhao)
2016 Brooks Becker, Ruomeng (Bella) Dai, Cristina Flores Rodriguez, Daniel Pannock, Katherine Taub, Hang Xue
2015 Danda Circa, Benjamin Greenho, Dongyan Huo, Connor Rudmann, Rebecca Schultz, Emma Streff, Steven Wenzel, Hal Matthews
2014 Brian Alloway, Lia Mitchell, Eugene Tsao, Joshua Luberda, William Sieling
2013 Alexander Tettenhorst, Pan Zhu, Seth Shields, Zixing Li, Katherine Makepeace
2012 Taylor Docking, Lyndsey Douglas, Brooke Husic, Tianqi Wang, James Westbrook
2011 Spencer Fish, Bart Kudrzycki, Sam McKinney, Amy Miller,  Joanna Wang
2010 Lucy Gellman, Allison Hellmers, Joseph Rhein, Erin Roper
2009 Victoria Kerr, Sarah Kuritzkes, Hillary Conkey, Ayla Karmustafa, Alieza Durana
2008 Rebekah Slodounik, Meredith Plumley, Erika Deal, Dena Birkenkamp, Ben Graham
2007 William Arndt, Peter Billings, Daria Galis, Engin Ozden, Kathleen Shen

German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

DAAD Award for Study at a German University

2005 Katy Marie Scoggin (accepted Fulbright instead)
2004 James Prell

Fulbright Foundation Awards

Fulbright Teaching Fellowships

2022 Lauren Bush (Germany), Enzo DeMichele (Austria), Emma Deutschmann (Germany), Kelly Lennon (Germany)
2021 Maddie Noyes (Austria)
2019 Patrick Goff (Austria)
2016 Hal Matthews
2010 Katherine Kerschen, Leah Marks
2014 Tianqi Wang
2007 Mary Kathleen Meyer (Germany), Aine Steiner (Germany)
2004 Shufen Grace Kiang (Germany), Tessa Schneider (Germany)
2003 Natalie Chalabi (Germany), Rosalind Early (Austria), Christina Wills (Germany)

Fulbright Research Fellowship

2021 Josh Klier (Austria)
2005 Katy Marie Scoggin

for more information

For information regarding other possible financial aid or scholarship opportunities not listed on this page, please contact our Director of Undergraduate Studies.

contact Professor Matt Erlin